As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Disclosure

Home Machine Guide

Drill and impact driver combo kits: what each one actually includes

A drill and impact driver combo kit is how most people start a cordless tool collection. The kits look alike in a listing photo, but the contents differ in ways that matter later: the size of the drill chuck, how many batteries and how large, and which charger. This page lists, kit by kit, what each maker's own page says is in the box.

What we compared and why

  1. The two tools. Most kits pair a drill/driver with a 1/4 in. hex impact driver. The drill's chuck size (3/8 or 1/2 in.) limits the bits it takes.
  2. Batteries in the box. Two batteries let one charge while you use the other. Their Ah figure sets runtime per charge and, roughly, size and weight.
  3. Charger. Some kit chargers also take another line's batteries, which matters if you later add tools from that line.
  4. Platform. The kit decides the battery system you build on. See our platform guide before choosing on contents alone.

The models compared

ModelPlatformTools in the kitBatteries and chargerBrushless named
DEWALT 20V MAX drill/driver and impact driver kit (DCK240C2)DEWALT 20V MAX*1/2 in. drill/driver (DCD771), 1/4 in. impact driver (DCF885)*2 x 1.3 Ah, charger, bag*Not stated in listing
DEWALT XTREME 12V MAX drill and impact driver kit (DCK221F2)DEWALT 12V MAX (XTREME)*3/8 in. drill/driver (DCD701), 1/4 in. impact driver (DCF801)*2 x 2 Ah 12V MAX (DCB122), 12V/20V MAX charger, belt clip, bag*Yes
CRAFTSMAN V20 BRUSHLESS RP drill/driver and impact driver kit (CMCK211C2)CRAFTSMAN V20*Drill/driver (CMCD713), brushless impact driver (CMCF813)*2 V20 batteries, charger, bag*Yes
CRAFTSMAN V20 drill/driver and impact driver kit (CMCK200C2)CRAFTSMAN V20*Drill/driver (CMCD700), impact driver (CMCF800)*2 x 1.5 Ah, charger, bag, 2 bits*Not stated in listing
Milwaukee M12 subcompact brushless 2-tool kit (3494-22)Milwaukee M12*3/8 in. drill/driver, 1/4 in. hex impact driver*2 x 2 Ah (CP2.0), M12 charger, bag*Yes

Table values are read from each product's current Amazon listing at the time of this page's build and normalised to one unit by us. "Not stated in listing" means the listing does not give the figure; "Listing gives two values" means the listing states it two different ways, so we show neither. Values marked * come from the maker's own spec page, linked under Sources.

We earn a commission if you buy through the Amazon links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Commissions never decide which products are listed or how they are described.

DEWALT 20V MAX drill/driver and impact driver kit (DCK240C2)

DEWALT 20V MAX drill/driver and impact driver kit (DCK240C2)

Who it fits: A first 20V MAX kit with a 1/2 in. chuck drill; DEWALT's page lists two 1.3 Ah batteries, a charger and a bag.

Skip it if: You expect long sessions between charges; 1.3 Ah packs are the smallest batteries in this table.

Check current price on Amazon

DEWALT XTREME 12V MAX drill and impact driver kit (DCK221F2)

DEWALT XTREME 12V MAX drill and impact driver kit (DCK221F2)

Who it fits: Compact tools for household work on DEWALT's 12V MAX line, with a charger DEWALT lists as 12V MAX to 20V MAX.

Skip it if: You plan to build on 20V MAX; the batteries in this kit are 12V MAX packs, which DEWALT lists as a separate line.

Check current price on Amazon

CRAFTSMAN V20 BRUSHLESS RP drill/driver and impact driver kit (CMCK211C2)

CRAFTSMAN V20 BRUSHLESS RP drill/driver and impact driver kit (CMCK211C2)

Who it fits: A CRAFTSMAN V20 start with a brushless impact driver that CRAFTSMAN states at 1,500 in-lb.

Skip it if: You need the battery size confirmed before buying; CRAFTSMAN's current page lists two V20 batteries without an Ah figure.

Check current price on Amazon

CRAFTSMAN V20 drill/driver and impact driver kit (CMCK200C2)

CRAFTSMAN V20 drill/driver and impact driver kit (CMCK200C2)

Who it fits: A CRAFTSMAN V20 start with two bits included; CRAFTSMAN states 1,460 in-lb for its impact driver.

Skip it if: You want brushless motors; CRAFTSMAN's spec table lists this kit's motor type as brushed.

Check current price on Amazon

Milwaukee M12 subcompact brushless 2-tool kit (3494-22)

Milwaukee M12 subcompact brushless 2-tool kit (3494-22)

Who it fits: The only kit here with stated tool weights (2 lb drill, 1.7 lb driver with battery), for household and tight-space work.

Skip it if: You want a 1/2 in. chuck for larger bits; this drill has a 3/8 in. chuck.

Check current price on Amazon

Battery capacity in the box

Every kit here includes two batteries and a charger. What differs is the battery size, which the makers give in amp-hours (Ah):

Kit Batteries Total Ah in the box Line
DEWALT DCK240C2 2 x 1.3 Ah 2.6 Ah 20V MAX
DEWALT DCK221F2 2 x 2 Ah 4 Ah 12V MAX
CRAFTSMAN CMCK200C2 2 x 1.5 Ah 3 Ah V20
CRAFTSMAN CMCK211C2 2, Ah not given on the current page Not given V20
Milwaukee 3494-22 2 x 2 Ah 4 Ah M12

Read the total within one line only. An amp-hour on a 12-volt-class battery holds less energy than an amp-hour on an 18-to-20-volt-class battery, so 4 Ah on a 12V line is not "more battery" than 3 Ah on a 20V line. Within one line, a larger Ah figure means longer runtime per charge and a larger, heavier pack. Small packs such as 1.3 and 1.5 Ah keep the tools light and the kit compact; if you expect long sessions, a larger battery is a common first add-on.

The drill's chuck

The chuck holds the drill bit. Two kits here have a 3/8 in. chuck (DEWALT DCK221F2, Milwaukee 3494-22). The DEWALT DCK240C2's DCD771 drill has a 1/2 in. chuck, and CRAFTSMAN states a 1/2 in. ratcheting chuck for the CMCD713 drill in the CMCK211C2; the CMCK200C2 listing also describes its drill as 1/2 in. A 1/2 in. chuck takes larger-shank bits, such as big spade bits and hole saws with large arbors; a 3/8 in. chuck covers ordinary drill bits and driver bits for household jobs.

The charger

Two kits list a charger that does more than its own line:

  • DEWALT lists the DCK221F2's charger as a 12V MAX to 20V MAX charger, so it would also charge 20V MAX batteries if you add that line later.
  • Milwaukee's 3494-22 lists an M12 charger. Milwaukee sells a separate multi-voltage charger that takes both M12 and M18 batteries.

One contradiction to know about

DEWALT's page for the DCK221F2 says in one sentence that the kit features two 20V MAX batteries, but its own "includes" list names two DCB122 12V MAX batteries, and the kit is a 12V MAX kit. We show the includes list. If the battery line matters to you, check the box label: 12V MAX batteries fit 12V MAX tools.

Impact driver torque, where stated

CRAFTSMAN states 1,500 in-lb for the CMCF813 driver in the CMCK211C2 and 1,460 in-lb for the CMCF800 in the CMCK200C2. Milwaukee states 1,100 in-lb for the subcompact driver in the 3494-22. DEWALT's kit pages give no in-lb figure for these two drivers in the text we read, so we leave them out rather than borrow a listing figure. For what those numbers mean, see torque units explained.

Which one if...

  • A first 20V-class kit with a 1/2 in. drill: DEWALT DCK240C2 or either CRAFTSMAN kit.
  • Light, compact tools for household jobs: Milwaukee 3494-22 or DEWALT DCK221F2.
  • A brushless driver on the V20 line: CRAFTSMAN CMCK211C2.
  • Two bits in the box and a V20 start, brushed motors acceptable: CRAFTSMAN CMCK200C2.

Choose the platform first; see cordless tool platforms compared. Not sure you need both tools? See drill or impact driver.

Reading the table

Every cell with a mark comes from the maker's own page for that exact kit, linked under Sources. "Brushless named" is from the listing or the maker page where either names it.

What this page does not tell you

We have not used these kits and we do not rank them. We do not state runtimes, which depend on the battery and the job.

Sources